West Indies classics

2009 / Punch en musique 2

Just like for the first volume of « Punch en musique », this second opus presents Caribbean standards, mainly from Malavoi’s repertoire, as well as some of Mario’s own hits (‘Non Musieu’, ‘Pei mwen jodi’). With Gregory Louis on the drums!

2003 / Les plus belles chansons de Noël

Along with Alex Bernard (bass) and Jean-Philippe Fanfant (dms), Mario Canonge interprets the most beautiful Caribbean Christmas carols somewhere in between Jazz and the traditional Chanté Nwel. Whether intimist, joyful or reverential, this trio is always sincere and offers some of the best interpretations of those famous carols. Could this possibly be one of these Christmas Miracles?

1999 / Punch en musique

With « Punch en musique » Mario Canonge performs the most beautiful pages of Caribbean tradition. The perfect opportunity to reappropriate the standard pieces of mazurka and beguine while adding a personal touch to create a collection, festive and nostalgic, of a certain way of life.

Les standards des Antilles

2009 / Punch en musique 2

Sur le même principe que pour le premier volume de « Punch en musique », ce deuxième opus alterne les standards antillais, essentiellement issus du répertoire de Malavoi, et des reprises de succès de Mario Canonge lui-même (‘Non Musieu’, ‘Pei mwen jodi’). C’est Gregory Louis qui tient les baguettes, derrière Mario et Alex Bernard.

2003 / Les plus belles chansons de Noël

Accompagné d’Alex Bernard (cb) et Jean-Philippe Fanfant (dms), Mario Canonge s’approprie les canons de Noël aux Antilles, à mi-chemin du jazz et de la tradition des Chanté Nwel. Tour à tour intimiste, joyeux ou recueilli, le trio est toujours juste et livre l’une des plus belles interprétations de ces airs connus et reconnus. Un vrai miracle de Noël !

1999 / Punch en musique

Avec « Punch en musique », Mario Canonge grave les pages les plus fraîches de la tradition des Antilles. L’occasion de reprendre les standards de la mazurka et de la biguine, et d’y ajouter quelques perles personnelles pour un recueil à la fois festif et nostalgique d’une certaine façon de vivre.